School of Social and Political Science

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Alan Barnard Professor Emeritus; Honorary Professorial Fellow; formerly Professor of the Anthropology of Southern Africa Southern Africa,Hunter gatherers,Human origins,Origins of language,Archaeology and anthropology,History of anthropology A.Barnard@ed.ac.uk
Julia Calvert Lecturer in Political Economy International political economy,International Law & International Relations,Political Sociology,International development,trade,foreign investment,investor-state dispute settlement,Extractive industries and resource governance,Latin America,Canadian foreign economic policy 3.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 4752
Julia.calvert@ed.ac.uk
John Harries More-Than-Senior Teaching Fellow and Director of Student Experience and Engagement (DSEE) for the School of Social and Political Science time and temporality,indigeneity and identity (particularly in postcolonial settler societies),matter and materiality,the senses and the environment,Canada,Newfoundland,the Beothuk,social memory,contentious heritage,Human-animal relationships,cats 5.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 651 3065
j.harries@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Hearn Professor of Political and Historical Sociology Theories of social power,the origins and nature of liberal society,social change and evolution,Nationalism and National Identity,The Sociology of Scotland,sociology of competition,Classical sociology and Scottish Enlightenment thought Room 6.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4242
J.Hearn@ed.ac.uk
Ailsa Henderson Professor of Political Science political behaviour,political culture,Regionalism,voting and elections,comparative territorial politics,UK,Scotland,Quebec-Scotland comparisons,European values,Public opinion and Political attitudes 3.09 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1618
ailsa.henderson@ed.ac.uk
Michael Keating Professor of Politics, University of Aberdeen, Director of Centre on Constitutional Change Constitution,Policy,Social,economic,Public policy +44 (0)7758 329876
m.keating@abdn.ac.uk
James Kennedy Director, Centre of Canadian Studies; Senior Lecturer in Sociology Comparative/Historical Sociology,Political Sociology,Nationalism and National Identity,Civil Society and Democratization,Liberalism,Scotland,Canada/Quebec 6.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4250
J.Kennedy@ed.ac.uk
Harshan Kumarasingham Senior Lecturer in British Politics British Politics,Decolonisation,Comparative Politics,Political History,South Asia,Commonwealth Politics and History,Monarchy,Australasia,British Empire,Constitutional Politics,Constitutional History,Parliamentary Studies,Westminster Model,State-Building,South-East Asia,Executive Power 3.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 4750
Harshan.Kumarasingham@ed.ac.uk
Niamh Moore Senior Lecturer Feminist theory,ethics and research practices,Feminist Research,Sustainability,women's movements,ecofeminism,archives,Research methodology,oral history,community-based participatory research,Queer Theory,interdisciplinary research,transdisciplinary research,narrative research Room 3.09, 3F2 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44(0)131 6508260
Niamh.Moore@ed.ac.uk @rawfeminism
Charles Raab Professorial Fellow 3.18 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 4243
c.d.raab@ed.ac.uk
Wilfried Swenden Professor of South Asian and Comparative Politics, Postgraduate Advisor (PIR PhD/MScR) Federalism,intergovernmental relations,Governing in divided societies,Indian Politics,Territorial Politics,Multi-level governance,Comparative Politics 3.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4255
W.Swenden@ed.ac.uk
Sophia Woodman Senior lecturer Citizenship, human rights and social movements; contemporary China; law and society; regional autonomy frameworks; migration and translocality. 3.09 
18 Buccleuch Place
44 (0)131 651 4745
Sophia.Woodman@ed.ac.uk